top of page
Logo

Recherche et amp; Liens de données :

Droit de garde de paternité --->

Recherche et amp; Département des données

    Accueillir! Vers la page recherche dans le département données. Cette page est dédiée aux personnes qui ont besoin d'informations ou qui sont en démarche pour trouver des ressources. Vous trouverez ici des ressources que vous pourrez utiliser dans votre quête d’égalité des droits parentaux. si vous êtes un client ou un sympathisant, veuillez vous inscrire pour recevoir des informations de recherche exclusives via. e-mail ou SMS.

    La National Saving Fatherhood Foundation, constituée en société, tient à vous remercier et nous sommes impatients de vous aider à poursuivre le combat à vos côtés sur ce chemin difficile qui nous attend. N'oubliez pas que vous êtes un gagnant. Vous avez fait le premier pas pour montrer que vous vous souciez de vous, de vos enfants et de votre communauté.

Merci!

Fatherhood support logo

Éducation et Histoires

Préparer les pères à une réintégration réussie dans la communauté

PARPaige Thompson | Institut urbain1

 

Présentation de  les problèmes


Quatre-vingt-douze pour cent (626 800) des parents incarcérés dans les prisons d’État et fédérales sont des pères et ils ont environ 1,3 million d’enfants de moins de 18 ans (Maruschak et al., 2021). Des estimations récentes indiquent que plus de 5 millions d'enfants ont connu l'incarcération d'un parent en prison ou en prison à un moment donné de leur vie (Murphey & Cooper, 2015). Sur la base de recherches antérieures, nous savons également qu'environ la moitié des pères incarcérés vivaient avec leurs enfants avant leur incarcération (Glaze et Maruschak, 2008). Cependant, tous ces chiffres sont probablement sous-estimés, car il n’existe pas de collecte systématique de données aux États-Unis sur le nombre de parents incarcérés dans les prisons fédérales et étatiques, ainsi que dans les prisons locales ou de comté. De plus, ces statistiques n’incluent pas l’expérience de l’incarcération des parents au cours de la vie d’un parent ou d’un enfant. La plupart de ces pères finissent par quitter les établissements correctionnels et doivent commencer à suivre le processus de réinsertion, ce qui présente des défis relationnels, financiers et personnels considérables pour eux-mêmes, leurs enfants et leur famille. Les pères doivent également naviguer dans le processus stressant et fastidieux consistant à se conformer aux exigences de probation et de libération conditionnelle. Ces défis sont aggravés pour de nombreux pères issus de minorités qui sont représentés de manière disproportionnée dans les prisons et dont les familles sont souvent déjà aux prises avec des problèmes de faible revenu et d'inégalité raciale. De plus, depuis mars 2020, la pandémie de COVID-19 a intensifié l’expérience des pères séparés de leurs enfants en raison de l’incarcération. De nombreux établissements correctionnels ont suspendu les visites en personne, ce qui impose des pressions supplémentaires aux familles et accroît l'incertitude quant à la santé, au bien-être et à la sécurité des personnes incarcérées pendant la pandémie (Barnert, 2020). Il existe donc un besoin important de services qui encouragent les pères de retour à reconstruire et à renforcer leurs relations avec leurs enfants et leur famille. Dans cette note d'information, nous résumons la littérature existante sur les impacts de l'incarcération sur les pères et nous nous appuyons sur la base de recherche pour identifier et décrire sept façons d'aider les pères qui reviennent à surmonter les défis et à reconstruire et renforcer les relations avec leurs enfants, leurs coparents et leurs conjoints.

 

   L'incarcération entraîne des difficultés émotionnelles et financières pour les pères et leurs partenaires, coparents, conjoints et enfants. Les expériences et les problèmes préexistants avant l’incarcération d’un père, tels que l’iniquité raciale, les traumatismes, les besoins en matière de santé mentale, la toxicomanie et la violence conjugale, intensifient le fardeau qui pèse sur leurs efforts pour rétablir et maintenir leurs relations familiales pendant et après l’incarcération.

 

Plus de temps passé, mais moins de pères au foyer

L’évolution du rôle des pères au foyer peut être mesurée de différentes manières. Une approche consiste à examiner le temps que les pères consacrent à s’occuper de leurs enfants. L'évolution des tendances dans les données sur l'emploi du temps aide à illustrer dans quelle mesure les pères qui résident avec leurs enfants se sont davantage impliqués dans leur vie au fil du temps. En 1965, les pères mariés ayant des enfants de moins de 18 ans vivant dans leur ménage consacraient en moyenne 2,6 heures par semaine à s'occuper de ces enfants. Le temps que les pères consacrent à s'occuper de leurs enfants a augmenté progressivement au cours des deux décennies suivantes, pour atteindre 2,7 heures par semaine en 1975 et 3 heures par semaine en 1985. De 1985 à 2000, le temps que les pères mariés ont passé avec leurs enfants a plus que doublé : à 6,5 heures en 2000. De 1965 à 2000, les mères mariées ont constamment consacré plus de temps que les pères mariés à s'occuper de leurs enfants mineurs, bien que l'écart entre les mères et les pères en termes de temps consacré à la garde des enfants se soit considérablement réduit.

 

Parallèlement à cette tendance à passer plus de temps avec les enfants, il y a une tendance à ce que davantage d'enfants vivent séparés de leur père. La baisse des taux de nuptialité et l’augmentation des naissances hors mariage et de la fécondité multipartite ont donné naissance à des structures familiales complexes et ont accru la probabilité que les pères ne résident pas avec tous leurs enfants.2 Selon le NSFG, près de la moitié de tous les pères (46 %) déclarent désormais qu'au moins un de leurs enfants est né hors mariage, et 31 % déclarent que tous leurs enfants sont nés hors mariage. En outre, environ 17 % des hommes ayant des enfants biologiques ont engendré ces enfants avec plus d’une femme.3

 

Êtes-vous un bon père ?

La présence ou l’absence d’un père au foyer est étroitement liée à la façon dont il évalue le travail qu’il exerce en tant que parent. Parmi les pères qui vivent avec leurs enfants au moins une partie du temps, près de neuf sur dix déclarent qu'ils font un très bon (44 %) ou un bon (44 %) travail en tant que pères de ces enfants. 11 % supplémentaires se considèrent comme de bons pères, et moins de 1 % déclarent qu'ils font un mauvais ou pas très bon travail en tant que père.

 

Les pères qui ne vivent pas avec leurs enfants s’évaluent beaucoup plus négativement. Seuls 19 % déclarent qu'ils font un très bon travail en tant que pères auprès des enfants dont ils vivent séparés, et 30 % déclarent qu'ils font du bon travail. Une personne sur quatre déclare qu'elle fait un bon travail, tandis qu'un nombre presque aussi élevé décrivent son rôle parental comme étant peu bon (13 %) ou mauvais (9 %).

 

À propos du rapport

Ce rapport est basé principalement sur l'analyse du Pew Research Center de l'Enquête nationale sur la croissance familiale (NSFG) de 2006 à 2008. Le NSFG rassemble des informations sur la vie familiale, le mariage et le divorce, la grossesse, l’infertilité et la santé des hommes et des femmes. L'enquête est une initiative continue des Centers for Disease Control and Prevention des États-Unis. Les données utilisées pour ce rapport sont tirées du cycle 7, qui était une enquête continue menée de juin 2006 à juin 2010. Les données de 2006 à 2008 sont basées sur des entretiens avec 13 495 répondants âgés de 15 à 44 ans ; 7 356 étaient des femmes et 6 139 des hommes. Sauf indication contraire, toutes les conclusions de ce rapport proviennent du NSFG.

 

Les résultats d’une nouvelle enquête du Pew Research Center complètent les conclusions du NSFG. L'enquête de Pew Research a été menée par téléphone fixe et cellulaire du 26 au 29 mai et du 2 au 5 juin 2011, auprès d'un échantillon représentatif à l'échelle nationale de 2 006 adultes vivant dans la zone continentale des États-Unis.

Les graphiques de ce rapport ont été préparés par Daniel Dockterman. Paul Taylor, directeur du programme Social & Le projet Tendances démographiques a fourni des conseils éditoriaux. Wendy Wang a fourni de précieux commentaires et une aide à la recherche. Daniel Dockterman et Wendy Wang ont vérifié les numéros et Marcia Kramer a révisé le rapport.

 

Le rapport est divisé en trois sections : (1) Aperçu ; (2) Conditions de vie et participation du père ; (3) Attitudes à l'égard de la paternité. Une méthodologie détaillée et un résumé peuvent être trouvés dans les annexes.

 

Notes sur la terminologie

La définition du « père » varie d'une question à l'autre dans le rapport, afin de refléter la formulation et la structure du NSFG.

 

  • Pour les questions concernant l'état civil à la naissance et si un père vit avec la mère de tous ses enfants biologiques : les « pères » sont limités aux hommes qui ont des enfants biologiques.

 

  • Pour les questions concernant la cohabitation et le temps passé avec les enfants : « Pères » désigne les hommes ayant des enfants de 18 ans ou moins. Pour les co-résidants, les « pères » incluent les hommes ayant des enfants biologiques, les enfants adoptés, les beaux-enfants ou ceux qui vivent avec les enfants de leur partenaire. Pour les non-corésidants, les « pères » sont uniquement basés sur les hommes ayant des enfants biologiques ou adoptés.

 

  • Pour les questions d'attitude NSFG et les questions concernant l'absence d'enfant, le « père » inclut tout homme ayant des enfants biologiques ou adoptés. À l’inverse, les hommes sans enfants n’ont pas d’enfants biologiques ou adoptés.

 

Tout père qui déclare que son enfant vit à temps plein ou à temps partiel dans son foyer est considéré comme un père « co-résident ». Tout père qui ne vit pas avec ses enfants biologiques ou adoptés est un père « non co-résident ». La cohabitation à temps partiel est auto-identifiée par le père.

 

Les termes « Blancs », « Noirs » et « Afro-Américains » sont utilisés pour désigner les composantes non hispaniques de leurs populations. Les Hispaniques peuvent appartenir à n’importe quelle race.

 

Autres conclusions clés

  • Les hommes ont un fort désir d'être pères… Globalement, 87 % des hommes âgés de 15 à 44 ans qui n'ont pas d'enfants déclarent vouloir avoir des enfants à un moment donné. Parmi les hommes sans enfants âgés de 40 à 44 ans, une faible majorité (51 %) souhaite toujours avoir des enfants.

 

  • … Mais la plupart disent qu’il n’est pas nécessaire d’avoir des enfants pour être heureux. Les hommes qui n’ont pas d’enfants rejettent l’idée selon laquelle les gens ne peuvent être heureux s’ils n’ont pas d’enfants. Seuls 8 % des hommes sans enfants sont d’accord avec cette affirmation, et même parmi les pères, seule une petite minorité (14 %) estime que les enfants sont nécessaires pour être heureux.

 

  • La plupart disent qu’il est plus difficile d’être père aujourd’hui qu’il y a une génération… Parmi tous les adultes, 57 % déclarent qu’il est plus difficile d’être père aujourd’hui qu’il y a 20 ou 30 ans. Seulement 9 % disent qu’il est plus facile d’être père aujourd’hui, et 32 % disent que c’est à peu près la même chose. Parmi les pères eux-mêmes, 63 % déclarent que le travail est plus difficile désormais.

 

  • …Mais il n’y a pas de consensus sur la question de savoir si les pères d’aujourd’hui sont plus impliqués. Le public est également partagé quant à savoir si les pères d’aujourd’hui jouent un rôle plus important ou moindre dans la vie de leurs enfants par rapport aux pères d’il y a 20 ou 30 ans. Alors que 46 % déclarent que les pères jouent désormais un rôle plus important, 45 % déclarent qu'ils jouent désormais un rôle moins important.

We assessed 12-month prevalence and incidence data on sexual victimization in 5 federal surveys that the Bureau of Justice Statistics, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the Federal Bureau of Investigation conducted independently from 2010 through 2012. We used these data to examine the prevailing assumption that men rarely experience sexual victimization. We concluded that federal surveys detect a high prevalence of sexual victimization among men—in many circumstances similar to the prevalence found among women. We identified factors that perpetuate misperceptions about men’s sexual victimization: reliance on traditional gender stereotypes, outdated and inconsistent definitions, and methodological sampling biases that exclude inmates. We recommend changes that move beyond regressive gender assumptions, which can harm both women and men.

 

The sexual victimization of women was ignored for centuries. Although it remains tolerated and entrenched in many pockets of the world, feminist analysis has gone a long way toward revolutionizing thinking about the sexual abuse of women, demonstrating that sexual victimization is rooted in gender norms1 and is worthy of social, legal, and public health intervention. We have aimed to build on this important legacy by drawing attention to male sexual victimization, an overlooked area of study. We take a fresh look at several recent findings concerning male sexual victimization, exploring explanations for the persistent misperceptions surrounding it. Feminist principles that emphasize equity, inclusion, and intersectional approaches2; the importance of understanding power relations3; and the imperative to question gender assumptions4 inform our analysis.

To explore patterns of sexual victimization and gender, we examined 5 sets of federal agency survey data on this topic (Table 1). In particular, we show that 12-month prevalence data from 2 new sets of surveys conducted, independently, by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) found widespread sexual victimization among men in the United States, with some forms of victimization roughly equal to those experienced by women.

Sexual Victimization of Men: What the Research Says

Screenshot_24-3-2024_6133_www.nsvrc.org.jpeg

This annotated bibliography provides descriptions of recent research related to the sexual victimization of men. It provides an overview of sexual assault, harassment, and abuse experienced by diverse populations of men in a variety of settings. These publications can assist advocates, medical professionals, law enforcement officials, and other service providers in identifying men who may be vulnerable to sexual violence and addressing gaps in services for survivors. Research is limited to men who have survived sexual violence. There are gaps in the research on men of color (especially those who are Asian American, Pacific Islander, and Native American/ Alaska Native) and transgender men. More research is needed to fill these gaps.

Alexa Young, Californie

« Les témoignages donnent une idée de ce que signifie travailler avec vous ou utiliser vos produits. Modifiez le texte et ajoutez le vôtre.

Morgan James, New York

"Un bon témoignage peut renforcer l'image de votre marque. Cliquez pour modifier et ajouter le vôtre."

Lisa Driver, Michigan

« Demandez aux clients de vous évaluer et de partager ce qu'ils avaient à dire. Cliquez pour modifier et ajouter leur témoignage.
bottom of page

top of page

Research & Data Links:

Fatherhood Custody Right -->

Research & Data Department

    Welcome! To the research in data department page. This page is dedicated To the people who are in need of information or going through the process to find resources. Here you will find resources for you to utilize in your pursuit for equal parenting rights. if you are a client or a supporter, please sign up to get exclusive research information sent to you via. email or text messaging.

    The National Saving Fatherhood Foundation incorporated, would like to say thank you and we look forward to helping you pursue a fight alongside you on this tough road ahead. Remember, you are a winner. You have taken the first step to show that you care about yourself, your children, and your community.

Thank You!

Education & Stories

Preparing Fathers for Successful Community Reentry

BY Paige Thompson | Urban Institute1

 

Overview of  the issues


Ninety-two percent (626,800) of the parents incarcerated in state and federal prisons are fathers, and they have approximately 1.3 million children under the age of 18 (Maruschak et al., 2021). Recent estimates indicate that more than 5 million children have experienced incarceration of a parent in prison or jail at some point in their lives (Murphey & Cooper, 2015). Based on earlier research, we also know that approximately half of incarcerated fathers lived with their children prior to incarceration (Glaze & Maruschak, 2008). However, all these numbers are likely underestimates, because there is no systematic data collection in the United States on the number of parents who are incarcerated in federal and state prisons, as well as local or county jails. Also, these statistics do not include the experience of parental incarceration over a parent’s or child’s lifetime. Most of these fathers eventually leave correctional facilities and must begin navigating the reentry process, which presents considerable relational, financial, and personal challenges for themselves and their children and families. Fathers must also navigate the stressful and time-intensive process of complying with probation and parole requirements. These challenges are compounded for many minority fathers who are disproportionately represented in prisons and whose families are often already struggling with low-income and racial inequity challenges. Moreover, since March 2020, the COVID-19 pandemic intensified the experience of fathers being separated from their children due to incarceration. Many correctional institutions suspended in-person visits, placing additional strains on families and enhancing the uncertainty of the health, well-being, and safety of those incarcerated during the pandemic (Barnert, 2020). Consequently, there is a significant need for services that encourage returning fathers to rebuild and strengthen their relationships with their children and families. In this information brief, we summarize the existing literature on the impacts of incarceration on fathers and draw on the research base to identify and describe seven ways to help returning fathers overcome challenges and rebuild and strengthen relationships with their children, coparents, and spouses.

 

   Incarceration results in emotional and financial hardships for fathers and their partners, co-parents, spouses, and children. Experiences and pre-existing issues prior to a father’s incarceration, such as racial inequity, trauma, mental health needs, substance abuse, and intimate partner violence intensify burdens on their efforts to reestablish and sustain their familial relationships during and after incarceration.

 

More Time Spent, But Fewer Fathers in the Home

The changing role of fathers in the home can be measured in different ways. One approach is to look at the amount of time fathers spend caring for their children. Changing trends in time use data help illustrate the extent to which fathers who reside with their children have become more involved in their lives over time. In 1965, married fathers with children under age 18 living in their household spent an average of 2.6 hours per week caring for those children. Fathers’ time spent caring for their children rose gradually over the next two decades—to 2.7 hours per week in 1975 and 3 hours per week in 1985. From 1985 to 2000, the amount of time married fathers spent with their children more than doubled – to 6.5 hours in 2000. From 1965 to 2000, married mothers consistently logged more time than married fathers caring for their minor children, though the gap between mothers and fathers in time spent on child care narrowed significantly.

 

Alongside this trend toward more time spent with children is a trend toward more children living apart from their fathers. Declining marriage rates and increases in out-of-wedlock births and multi-partner fertility have given rise to complicated family structures and have increased the likelihood that fathers will not reside with all of their children.2 According to the NSFG, nearly half of all fathers (46%) now report that at least one of their children was born out of wedlock, and 31% report that all of their children were born out of wedlock. In addition, some 17% of men with biological children have fathered those children with more than one woman.3

 

Are You a Good Father?

A father’s presence or absence in the home is closely related to how he evaluates the job he is doing as a parent. Among fathers who live with their children at least part of the time, nearly nine-in-ten say they are doing a very good (44%) or good (44%) job as fathers to those children. An additional 11% classify themselves as okay fathers, and less than 1% say they are doing a bad or not very good job as a father.

 

Fathers who do not live with their children rate themselves much more negatively. Only 19% say they are doing a very good job as fathers to the children they live apart from, and 30% say they are doing a good job. One-in-four say they are doing an okay job, while nearly as many describe their parenting as not very good (13%) or bad (9%).

 

About the Report

This report is based mainly on Pew Research Center analysis of the 2006-08 National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG). The NSFG gathers information on family life, marriage and divorce, pregnancy, infertility, and men’s and women’s health. The survey is an ongoing initiative of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Data used for this report are drawn from Cycle 7, which was a continuous survey conducted from June 2006 to June 2010. Data from 2006-08 is based on interviews with 13,495 respondents ages 15-44; 7,356 were female and 6,139 male. Unless otherwise noted, all findings in this report are from the NSFG.

 

The results of a new Pew Research Center survey complement the findings from the NSFG. The Pew Research survey was conducted by landline and cellular telephone May 26-29 and June 2-5, 2011, among a nationally representative sample of 2,006 adults living in the continental United States.

The charts for this report were prepared by Daniel Dockterman. Paul Taylor, director of the Pew Research Center’s Social & Demographic Trends project, provided editorial guidance. Wendy Wang provided valuable comments and research assistance. Daniel Dockterman and Wendy Wang did the number checking, and Marcia Kramer copy-edited the report.

 

The report is divided into three sections: (1) Overview; (2) Living Arrangements and Father Involvement; (3) Attitudes about Fatherhood. A detailed methodology and topline can be found in the appendices.

 

Notes on Terminology

The definition of “father” varies from question to question in the report, in order to reflect the wording and structure of the NSFG.

 

  • For questions regarding marital status at birth, and whether a father is living with the mother of all of his biological children: “Fathers” are limited to men who have biological children.

 

  • For questions regarding co-residence and time spent with children: “Fathers” refer to men with children 18 or younger. For co-residers, “fathers” include men with biological children, adopted children, stepchildren, or those who are living with their partner’s children. For non-co-residers, “fathers” are based on men with biological or adopted children only.

 

  • For NSFG attitude questions and questions regarding childlessness, “father” includes any man with biological or adopted children. Conversely, childless men have no biological or adopted children.

 

Any father who says that his child lives full time or part time in his household is considered a “co-resident” father. Any father who does not live with his biological or adopted children is a “non-co-resident” father. Part-time co-residence is self-identified by the father.

 

The terms “whites,” “blacks” and “African Americans” are used to refer to the non-Hispanic components of their populations. Hispanics can be of any race.

 

Other Key Findings

  • Men have a strong desire to be fathers… Overall, 87% of males ages 15-44 who have no children say that they want to have children at some point. Among childless men between the ages of 40-44, a narrow majority (51%) still want children.

 

  • …But most say you don’t need children to be happy. Men who do not have children reject the idea that people can’t be happy unless they have children. Only 8% of childless men agree with this statement, and even among fathers, only a small minority (14%) agree that children are necessary in order to be happy.

 

  • Most say being a father is harder today than it was a generation ago… Among all adults, 57% say it is more difficult to be a father today than it was 20 or 30 years ago. Only 9% say being a father is easier today, and 32% say it’s about the same. Among dads themselves, 63% say the job is harder now.

 

  • …But there is no consensus on whether today’s fathers are more involved. The public is evenly split over whether today’s fathers play a greater role or a lesser role in their children’s lives compared with dads 20 or 30 years ago. While 46% say fathers play a greater role now, 45% say they play less of a role now.

Alexa Young, CA

"I have lost all hope in finding my children, after my childrens' ran off with them. But, thank you to the research information department. I was able to find my children and we are now. Rebuilding our family, once again."

Morgan James, NY

" The National Saving Fatherhood Foundation is a great resource for fathers' that lost within a bad system."

Lisa Driver, MI

"Can just say, WOW!!"
bottom of page